Plague News

You may have noticed that there have been several big plague papers in the last couple months.

I haven’t posted on them partly because I have been busy with other things, but partly also because I don’t attempt to keep up with the news cycle. Sometimes things need to incubate for a while. For my purposes, identifying a microbe in the context of a historical place and time has been more important than phylogeny. I do pay attention to phylogeny and it may sometimes provide insights I find useful, but I think its is far too early to attempt to write history based on phylogeny. We still can not predict likely transmission routes with any detail. It’s good to know there is evidence of persistence in Europe, so we can get rid of the odd notion that there have never been European plague foci.   I’ll be back in the next couple days with a new post on a different aspect of plague.

One thought on “Plague News

Comments are closed.